Hello world!

OK, So I am new to blogging. I actually really don’t spend that much time in front of the computer. That being said I feel this is going to be the easiest way of expressing our mission, and maybe meeting some like minded people who have similar interests and possible some useful knowledge.

I guess I will start by talking a little bit about myself and my family’s mission…. Here goes…..

I am an artist, I graduated from Brock University here in Ontario, about 4 years ago with a degree in Fine Arts and Film. I love painting and drawing. I get most of my inspiration from the world around me and in the last 4 years I have developed a great love and respect for nature.  I will be honest here, it all started with flowers. I just love them, all shapes and sizes. I will eventually get some pictures of my flower gardens up here, but for now you will have to wait. My first garden was all flowers and just for looks. I enjoyed going out and weeding, planting new things. Watching them grow from seedlings, growing into full fledged plants, in bloom.

Then I had kids, and everything changed. I went from just loving plants to having this churning deep desire to learn about plants, their uses, their histories, their likes and dislikes. In short, I have spent the vast majority of my last four years learning about plants. I spend most of my free time poring over books, Lone Pines publication Edible and Medicinal wild plants  is one of my favorites, I always go back to it. I bring it on outings to local forests and spend most of my time looking for plants that I know. It really is a pleasure.

This spring we made the leap into “permaculture”.  Well, we took the first steps in transforming our lawn into something far more meaningful and far more fun. We planted our fruit trees first, then we added some berry plants and now we are going forward with the veggies. I can’t wait to see what is to come.

picture will be up soon I promise!

In the mean time, check out some of this video on youtube that kind of introduces the idea of permaculture, and maybe you will be inspired to start a permaculture garden of your own!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OAv8Td8avlM&feature=related

Leave a Reply

