The Backyard Tour Continued

Blueberry Bushes

So from where I left off last we have looked to the right, as if we have turned on the spot by 200 degrees. You can just make out in the background, in the right hand corner the Other end of the Fern bed, featured in my last post. There are 2 varieties shown here, a Highbush Blueberry, which will apparently get to be about 5-6 meters in height; and the Lowbush Blueberry

Highbush Blueberry

Currant patch

which will not exceed 60 centimeters. Joey wants to move the Lowbush ones to the end of the Fern bed in the aforementioned photo. I am super excited to see this patch next year when the bushes fill out, I think it’s gonna be awesome!! Currently we spend a tonne of money at the grocery store on berries and fruit. We are hoping to make that bill disappear for at least a few months a year.

The photo to the right is o our Red Garden Currant patch. We moved the majority of these plants last fall. Some are having a harder time leafing out than others, but almost all the branches have fruit. They are these shiny little clusters of berries, normally found under the cover of a leaf, except on the bare branches. These just have shiny little clusters of currants. Last year they were all along the drive way, we moved most of them from there to this location. This spring we found one tangle of currants had come back at the head of the drive (near the garage). We also put in some native varieties of currants, golden currants, named for the colour of the flower not the berry, and some prickly currants, named for, you guessed it, the spines that are all over it! I figured out pretty quickly to handle them only when I am wearing gloves!

currant clusters

Josta Berry

In the foreground of the picture of the currant patch you can make out another berry patch. These are the Josta Berries. They are a cross between Black Currants and Gooseberries. I guess when they are not quite ripe they taste tart and alittle crunchy like a gooseberry, but once they have ripened they become sweet like a Black Currant.  They have yet to flower this year, and honestly I don’t expect much this year, but in coming years we will hopefully get a good harvest.

In the middle of this patch I planted a ground cherry which is an indigenous plant. It actually grows as far south as Florida, as far north as Northern Ontario. I am kind of excited to see what it looks like grown, and to see and taste the fruit.

Sometimes I feel cheated of this knowledge that if our society has deemed inconsequential. When I am in the garden, or reading about plants I feel like this is sacred knowledge, knowledge that historically would have been the difference between life and death. This knowledge would have been precious and it would have been passed on through the generations. The utter indifference people show towards the food they eat really does baffle my mind. I am slowly reforming my ways and working on creating connections between myself and my food, learning about historical food sources, indigenous food sources and working to create my families own food forest garden.

More to come, but for now I have to bring in the clothes off the line and put the clean ones up.

Leave a Reply

