Yarrow, more of a medicinal than an edible.

Happy Monday everyone! I was going to put up some brand spanking new pictures today, taken Just yesterday. Sadly I got to work only to realize that I selected the wrong folder to transfer to my memory stick thingger. So, you all will just have to wait. In the mean time, I still have tonnes that you haven’t seen. And I think today I will focus on a few of my favorite plants and tell you a little bit about them. So, without further ado, ladies and gentlemen, here are a few of my favorite things (and yes I was quoting the Sound of music).

Featured in the above picture is one of my very favorite plants. Yarrow, I have always liked it, is so delicate and pretty. This one is in my front yard “flower” bed. I like Yarrow for many reasons. The foliage is almost like lace. The blooms come in a number of colours, I have seen it is yellow, pink, white and even red.  It can be used to treat burns, sores, pimples, mosquito bites and more. It is also a birthing herb, that can help with clotting and heal the uterus. Pretty and functional, my personal favorite combination!

St. John's Wort

This summer beauty is St. John’s Wort. In the picture you can also see some morning glories and a sneaky little lily that came up from I am assuming a seed (as there were no lilies in that area last year). You have likely heard of this one before, this pretty little flower has the power to reduce stress, it is a mild sedative. The interesting part, for me anyways, is that it can also be used to treat wounds, sores, swelling, cuts, bruises, scrapes and mild burns. It is pretty and functional.
Just as a side note, I noticed a St. John’s Wort popping up in someones lawn on my walk home from work. Thanks for not cutting it, whoever you are. Just looking at the blooms is a great pick me up.

Motherwort

Motherwort is considered a weed by most people, especially by most of the gardeners that I know. This summer beauty volunteered itself, and is coming up along my driveway. The flowers are used as a flavoring in soups and tea. It is also used for it’s calming sedative properties. It is said to be a remedy for the heart as well. It gets it’s name from it’s widespread use as a woman’s herb. It stimulates the uterus and was taken for menstrual and menopausal issues.  The leaves can also be used as a natural olive green dye for fabrics. I like to sip it as a tea, we have some drying in the kitchen right now!

The last plant I am going to talk about in this post is Chicory. The Chicory we have in our yard is a volunteer plant. All parts of Chicory are edible. Flowers can be added to salads, the greens can be used as a cooked vegetable (although they require at least 1 change of waterto remove bitter taste) the roots can be eaten raw, boiled or roasted, although most often they are used as a coffee substitute. Chicory is rich in vitamins A and C. The extracts has shown ability to lower blood sugar, it is mildly sedative, antibacterial, antimutagenic, liver protective and anti-inflammatory effects. Again, pretty and functional.

 

Leave a Reply

