It’s Raining, It’s Pouring

The rain of early fall is here. It has been raining for almost 3 days now… This weather makes me sad… I just want to cuddle up and read a good book.
Alas, I do not have time for that kind of thing (except maybe at the end of the day, when I am laying in bed about to drift off)… there are still a tonne of things to do to prepare for winter. We have definitely been slacking off the last few weeks. Joey and pa picked up a load of mulch, it needs to be distributed. We have some transplanting and splitting up overgrown plants to do. There are a few weeds to pull and there are winter squash on the vine to be picked. The sunflowers are ready to come off their stalks, and a few more cobs of corn are ready to be picked. Potatoes need to be dug, as do the sweet potatoes. Then of course there is the matter concerning the herbs. We need to buy bags and harvest away. That reminds me we have flax and mustard to be harvested and seeds need to be removed from their husks. The list goes on and on..I think we will be able to get everything done, provided we get a few dry days.

Borrowed this image until I have one of my own to share

I wish I had some new pictures to share… you are gonna have to wait until we visit Erik about new plants. Joey and I both are interested in getting a few Paw Paw trees for the yard. I am sure we will find loads of new plants to add to the yard, but for now I will focus on the ones I would like the most. The Paw Paw really excites me, they produce an edible fruit that is often compared to mango. It is a native plant to my area and it grows to be a middle canopy tree, so it will perform several of the key functions in our food forest, providing shelter, shade and food! Not to mention that the flowers are gorgeous! I think that these trees will be a real conversation starter.

On a bit of a side note, growing up in the modern tradition, we (as in people from my age group) were not exposed to native fruits and plants. I have spoken to plenty of people who have never even heard of the Paw Paw tree, and I really do wonder why. I grew up with Pear trees, apple trees, the occasional grape vine. Of course we has Tomato, bean and corn fields all over the place. Cash crops, even orchards. In all my childhood I never saw a Paw Paw fruit, not on a tree, not in a store not at a fruit stand. I guess it is likely that I have seen a Paw Paw tree, odds are in favor of me having at least seen one, but that sighting must have fallen on blind eyes. It was not until my adult life that I even learned about this trees existence. Now to some extent that can be blamed on my obliviousness to the world around me. That being said I do tend to pay attention to nature, and it still took me all these years to even have an awareness of this plant. I do think it is a shame that we grow up with so little knowledge of the plants around us. I am hoping to change that, at least bring some awareness to those people that I encounter.

It is easy to live with abundance, when you know what you are looking for. I wish that for everyone!

I guess that is it for now. So, until next time, remember, Eat your Yard.

Leave a Reply

