Christmas is almost here….

So there really is not much growing on in the garden these days. The cold weather is beginning and the plants are all resting safely beneath the mulch. I’m sorry I have not posted in a while, but mostly there has not been much to talk about.

Christmas is on the way, I have been spending most of my free time working on Christmas gifts. SPOILER ALERT if you are a family member or friend you might want to stop reading here.
I have found a few ways to share natures bounty with the gifts we are making. The hand lotion is made of beeswax, olive oil, aloe and herbs. The lip balm is made of berries, beeswax and olive oil… yum! We are also including an herbal baths, bath salts and foot bath to the girl gifts this year. It is nice to be able to pass along our passion for nature. I hope everyone loves their gifts.
After Christmas I will post pictured of the finished gifts.
Talking about handmade gifts bring me around to the real topic I would like to discus.
Consumerism. I am not rallying against consumerism, do not misunderstand me. I understand that it is not possible to meet all of our needs without purchasing items. I am not naive to that…. What I would like to point out though is the rampant spending for spending sake that goes on at this time of year. I am sure you have all seen the news reels from “black Friday” this year, there were people getting seriously injured over waffle irons! What is going on, people spending money they do not have on Christmas seems frivolous and wasteful. The idea makes me frown.
When i decided to make gifts this year there were a few factors that made my decision clear and easy to make, firstly I wanted to let everyone know that I was thinking about them, that I had literally added love to their gifts. Second, I wanted to control what was in the gifts I was giving. We live in a chemical world. The more I take chemicals away from my daily life the better I feel. I wanted to pass that feeling on; and lastly I wanted to share my passion of nature, what better way than to show how we can take advantage of the plants that grow all around us (besides herbs smell nice!).
I guess that is all for now… Much love and Happy Holidays!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Gretchen on January 1, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    Hi Lacy,
    Do you have an email address? I’d like to email you a few questions.
    I looked around the blog, but my brain and eyes aren’t working so well right now.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Momma on March 26, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    The Christmas gifts made with your naturals and love were wonderful!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

