I wanted to share one more excerpt from Barnheart

I have been reading a book called Barnheart. I feel a strong kinship to the protagonist (Jenna Woginrich, as she is a real person and the book is a memoir). She is a driven woman who is determined to have a farm. She puts the feelings associated with growing food so eloquently. I would share the whole book, but I do have a limited amount of time and you all can just go out and read the book if you like the bits I do share. So, without further ado, here is one more excerpt that spoke to me very clearly.

“Farming is physical and emotional, and you get out of it exactly what you’re willing to put into it. Like any relationship, it has its high and low points, but the deep undertone of pure, unadulterated love keeps it pumping blood. It’s something you can have if you’re willing to work for it.” -Barnheart

I get asked often where I find the time, or why would I bother, or people just say you work too much. I don’t think of it that way. I get out what I put in (Joey feels the same way). I find harvesting the food from our yarden is the most fulfilling feeling. This food is fresh, flavourful and often still warm from the sun when you pop the little treasures in your mouth! In many ways our yarden is our independence declaration. We can eat food from our yard for half the year, if I can get canning (sucessfully, no luck so far, aside from my salsa which didn’t last because we all liked it too much!) we will be eating hopefully for much of the year from the yard.
I guess I just wanted to set the record straight, it is a lot of work, but it is more than worth it. It gives us satisfaction you can’t get at the grocery store, yummy food that our hard work produced.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Please teach the rest of these internet hooaiglns how to write and research!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

