A little link

Last year I made a pact with myself that I would change the way I look at weeds. I decided that most weeds are in fact useful forgotten herbs. That being said, I thought I would pass along this link.
Weed Eater: Edible Weeds
I hope you all enjoy eating the weeds!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Never thought blogging could be soo fun and interesting. Man you know how to do it brother.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lynn on June 15, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    I’m loving your blog – I used to live in W’burg (30 years ago) and it’s awesome to see what someone in ON can do with an urban space. I want to immediately go outside and rip up my entire yard (although getting the 60 ft. tall spruce trees out of the back corner might be a little beyond me!)

    These concepts are new to me – so can I ask – if you only had *one* book (I know – impossible – I’m a bookglutton myself) which one would you fight raving hordes of zombies to defend? I’d like to start with something that gives both a good overview and specific concepts (or is that asking too much?)

    Keep the pics coming – there can never be too many pics IMHO.
    Thanks!

    Reply

    • Thanks! It always brightens my day when I hear that anyone is enjoying the blog! The yard has been a wonderful experiment. I have enjoyed every minute of digging, planting and watering. I would not recommend ripping up your yard in one go. We sheet mulched everything, it is easier than removing sod, and better for the micro-organisms if you just leave the grass there and mulch over the top (it also turns the grass into fertilizer). We started with s few bushes, and herbs… and well, you can see how far we have come.
      If I had to choose a book…. that is really difficult. There have been loads of books along the way, but I think the one I use the most is actually a plant identification book by Lone Pine. http://www.lonepinepublishing.com/cat/9781551055725. I don’t think I could live without this book. I use it as soon as the ground is green until the snow is back.
      As for books on techniques, I would look for http://www.amazon.ca/Introduction-To-Permaculture-Bill-Mollison/dp/0908228082. Bill Mollison is great, he lays out the idea in a way that makes sense. You can also watch loads of videos on youtube about permaculture techniques too. Another resource is the forum at http://www.Permies.com, lots of people giving practical advice gained through experience.
      Of course feel free to ask me questions! I am happy to answer them if I can!
      Anyways, thanks for the kind words.
      Have a great day!
      Lacy

      Reply

Leave a Reply

