Bugs, Birds, Fruit and Blooms

There are a few things I wanted to talk about today. So bear with me, I may ramble.

The first subject I wanted to touch on was bugs. I have to say, that over the last few years, my attitude towards bugs has changed dramatically. I used to hate bugs, I would squish them ruthlessly, relishing the crunch and splat noises. Bugs were the enemy and I wanted nothing to do with them. Clearly my opinions, much like my opinion of weeds, has changed.

So, what about bugs? The more I read about plants, the more I like bugs. The more I notice bugs. I am astounded by the variety of bugs I have found in our yarden. From the Stump-stabber (the one in the picture is almost identical, we were not fast enough to get a photo), to bumble bees, beetles and flys.

I really shouldn’t be surprised, after all we are providing habitat and food for these little bugs. In return they pollinate our plants and add to the humus of the soil when they die. One more major bonus is that we have experience minimal “pest” outbreaks. Our yard is a haven for predator insects like ladybugs, stump-stabbers and praying mantis’. It is like watching the nature channel in our back yard. 
The bugs also attract and feed birds. This is great for a few reasons. Bird droppings add to soil fertility, not exactly appetizing, but true, and of great benefit. This morning I watched a robin devour a gooseberry and then several bugs.

It was pretty neat to watch the robin, hopping around the garden first eating the berry, then chasing a bug, and devouring it! Nature doing her work.

The next thing I wanted to share, was fruit. I was pleasantly surprised this morning to find that one of our wintergreen plantings was berrying already!  They wont be ready for a few months, but it was very neat to see a small fruit set starting.
The raspberries have been fruiting for weeks. We have gotten easliy half a pint ever second day, plus whatever we eat when we are outside. Our patch of raspberries is doing extremely well this year. Yay!

WE HAVE BLUEBERRIES! I was ecstatic to see that our little blueberry bushes are not only doing much better this year, but that they have fruit! While the amount we have gotten is not significant, it is better than the lack complete lack of fruit last year.

I think this is due to some serious hard work. Since last year we have sheet mulched and added loads of organic matter to the soil. We were doing this before we had a full grasp on the benefits to the soil. By adding diverse mulch we are adding to the available nutrients in the soil, both for soil life and for plants. I think this is the key to productive plants.

I also wanted to show off this beauty of a peach. Growing all alone on the tree (as it turns out we had a large number of aborted blossoms this year, due to the erratic early spring weather). This is the only peach to be borne of the front yard peach tree, doesn’t it look just fabulous? I can’t wait to eat it!

We were lucky enough to have a hand full of peaches take on one of the backyard peaches, sadly no plums or pears, and only a few cherries. I suppose it is good for the trees anyways. One more year to work on growing strong… So its okay.


I also wanted to send a shout out to Katherine V. for the incredible calendula  flowers! If it weren’t for her we would be without, she was gracious enough to pick some up for me. They are planted and flowering! I can’t wait to use them!

As a final note today, I want to say thanks to everyone for reading. And here is yet another Slideshow, enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response to this post.

  1. I forgot to mention, our eggplants, tomatoes, beans and melons are flowering!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

